Some Recent Additions.

Christmas being a very busy time for me at work, I have fallen behind in my blogging.  Still I have been working upon some wargaming projects.  These include three new buildings from Charlie Foxtrot Models which I will present here later. They are almost but not quite finished.

Some of the things that are ready to share are following.

DSC_0008

     The first is a Bolt Action German 222, which I unfortunately dropped and damaged just before taking this picture.  I got it back together but it does need a touch up on its paint now!  I had been avoiding bolt action vehicles due to some negative comments that I have heard, mostly regarding proportion issues.  I caved on this because well it was very well priced on Ebay! I am pleased with it though it does lack some of the detail found on the AGN casting and I assume the Company B as well.  I love the slot it arrangement for the wheels however.  Helps make for a very sturdy model.  The decals are from Company B.

DSC_0010

     Warlord’s Char B Bis.  I know, I just mentioned that I don’t buy Warlord vehicles and here is a second in the same post.  Again this was an Ebay purchase and an even better deal as it was an unboxed but bagged kit.  This was a very nice kit to assemble, except perhaps for one troublesome piece.  I am looking forward to seeing it in action.  The weathering was done with chalk pastels which applied themselves very nicely to this model.

DSC_0011

     This is a Blitzkrieg Somua in 1:56 (as our all of my vehicles).  I mention the scale because Blitzkrieg offers both 1:56 and 1:48 which I think is brilliant.  There is a lot of argument back and forth regarding what scale is best for 28mm.  The supporters of 1:56 arguing that it is the correct vehicle scale for a proper 28mm figure. They argue that 1:48 is too large which it is.  The supporters of 1:48 however remind us that the 28mm figures are not all the same scale as each other and are not even in proper proportion to themselves, which is also true.  They believe that the 1:56 models look to puny besides their 28mm infantry companions.  Frankly I think both arguments have their merits.  I made by descision simply because I think mixing both 1:48 and 1:56 together looks silly.  Even more so if you have two of the same vehicle in the different scales (which I do…two little Renault ft 17s that will never be fielded together).  I have chosen 1:56 simply because there are more of the French vehicles available in the scale than in 1:48.

DSC_0016

    Anyway, I am very pleased with this Somua as I have been with every model purchased from Blitzkrieg.  I purchased this one through Arcane Scenery in Britain.  The Blitzkrieg models are very clean castings with such a wonderful balance of detail and sturdiness.  They make beautiful models that can certainly stand the rigours of the wargaming battle field.  Both of these French tanks have been finished with decals from multiple sources.

Categories: Chain of Command, Review, Uncategorized, World War II | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Some Recent Additions.

  1. aslfan

    I hate dropping just finished kit, well I hate dropping them full stop but just finished the worst.

    Really like the paint jobs on the French, you have done an excellent job

    Ian

    Like

  2. Well, well, well. Small world, but not surprising actually. My blog has been in hibernation as I lost my hobby mojo last year but have gained it back last summer. I’m fixin’ to post a relaunch, heralding the transition of my “Dux Westerosum” into “Lion and Direwolf Rampant”.

    http://dilettantegamer.blogspot.com/

    Really like TFL rules. Nick Worthington has rekindled his table top interests with WWII in 20mm.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the kind words Ian. I am glad the damage wasn’t worse. I guess that something in favor of Warlords ruggedness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

JOHN BOND's WARGAMING STUFF

Wargaming in Williamsbrg, ,Virginia

Gentlemanly Wargaming

A blog about playing games with toy soldiers (formerly called El Granadero Loco)

Meeples & Miniatures

Where Miniature Wargames & Strategy Boardgames collide

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

"Fishy Fashion and Maritime Modes"

Seafaring Dress in the European Age of Sail (1750-1800)

Dispatches from a Hanoverian Kriegspieler

Wargaming in Williamsbrg, ,Virginia

LEGIO XXVIII LILIPVTIA

Wargaming in Williamsbrg, ,Virginia

Earl the Bard

Wargaming in Williamsbrg, ,Virginia

A Damsel in This Dress

My life in stitches - adventures in the world of costuming...

Past Pleasures

Wargaming in Williamsbrg, ,Virginia

Compleat Napoleonics

My gaming group's re-fight of 1792-1815.

ubiquematt

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Charlie Stayton

Writing in Frustration!

Foodways Pilgrim

It's not just the food, it's the ways

PAT´S LASER CUTTINGS

Wargaming in Williamsbrg, ,Virginia

Notes from a reluctant folkie

Thoughts on folk music and learning to play an odd mix of instruments.